Sign up to our newsletter




Sign me up for...



Appartement Blanc

Marais-Oberkampf, Paris, France

Press Reviews

The Guardian, June 2014
"Affordable family-friendly pads are hard to come by in Paris, which makes this pied-à-terre in a traditional 18th-century apartment block even more of a find. For more or less the same price you'd pay for a poky room in a Parisian hotel, you get an open-plan kitchen/dining room, a master bedroom with doors to a private terrace, a twin room and a small shower room. It's simple and quirky rather than luxurious, but the white walls and floorboards and floor-to-ceiling windows give it a bright, airy feel. The location, in the 11th arrondissement, with the Place de la République at one end of the road and the Bastille at the other, is spot on and there's a good choice of bistros, bars and boulangeries within strolling distance."

The Times, September 2010
"A good-sized flat with a terrace, ideal for families, this is between the Marais and Oberkampf. Overlooking a cobbled courtyard, it is quiet at night and the slightly frayed furnishings mean that you won't be constantly worrying about sticky fingers. It sleeps four in the double bedroom and a twin-bedded room, and a cot is available."

The Independent, February 2010
"Cosy up in this contemporary apartment in the Marais district, on a street once called home by Blaise Pascal and revolutionary figure Robespierre. The apartment's prevailing white colour scheme is warmed by 17th-century wooden beams and a fireplace in the snug living room. Back down at street level, this bourgeois quartier is littered with boho cafés, art galleries and chic boutiques."

Guest Ratings

Room:
87%
Food:
100%
Service:
83%
Value:
87%
Overall:
86%

Guest Reviews

Reviews are only from people who have stayed there and booked through i-escape.

  • “Great value for a two bedroom apartment in Paris. We were travelling with two children so the understated décor suited us well (it's more relaxing than hoping your children don't break the homewares). The washing machine and dryer were a blessing especially for a long stay and with children. However the provision of a small amount of washing powder would have been valuable. The terrace was unavailable as it was being renovated (boards missing). Christian was very prompt with all communication however a little welcome book outlining the facilities of the apartment and the local area would be handy.”
    , Australia (18.05.14)

  • “Great place to stay. Good location and it was great to be able to shop for food and relax and eat in our own Parisian apartment.”
    , United Kingdom (12.04.14)

  • “The room and value were great. As for service we heard nothing from the owners having sent numerous texts, emails and voicemails to try to get into the apartment. We also never received our i-escape extra. Having said all that we were very comfortable, excellently located and would stay there again.”
    , United Kingdom (20.02.14)

  • “My friends and I stayed here 5 years ago and the apartment was just as we remembered it! It's in a great location, has everything you need for a comfortable stay, and was the perfect location for our girly weekend. We had another perfect time there and hope to be back sooner this time!”
    Mariam, United Kingdom (11.11.13)

  • “Perfect location. Good communication regarding arrival and getting keys etc. It is well appointed and large and offers value for money. Bedrooms face courtyard so it is as quiet as can be at night. We will return and recommend highly for independent tourists. Would be perfect for a family.”
    , New Zealand (25.09.13)

  • “The location of the apartment is perfect. It is quite comfortable, enough space for a family of four, the right value for the money. The bathroom is quite small and the bathtub was clogged when we first arrived. The apartment is partially clean, some of the equipment for cleaning was either missing or dirty. There was a mistake with the email Christian (the manager) had so I didn't get any messages from him until very much the last moment. Thanks to i-escape great staff the connection was made and after that it worked well.”
    , Israel (05.06.13)

  • “The appartment was great.
    We had a baby and our first holiday and was the perfect place. With cot, washing machine, microwave and dvd player life was much easier!!
    Location excellent..great resturant on opposite corner even with our baby very hospitable. Loved design features and decoration.
    Only idea to add would be to have a guide from owner as like to know local choices..”
    Julie, United Kingdom (24.05.13)

  • “A couple of glitches - the heating wasn't turned on for long before we arrived, which meant the apartment was very cold for the first night. It would be great if hotwater bottles were provided! The light fitting in the bathroom was faulty, the shower head needs a major descale (or replacement) and the shower door leaks terribly. Apart from that, a great location and very cute apartment.”
    , United Kingdom (29.01.13)

  • “The apartment is very basic and the kitchen equipment minimal - don't expect to cook. The odd assortment of books, magazines, etc., just look untidy. We found the mattress is very uncomfortable. Apart from the noise from the Metro that runs beneath the apartment, it is clean and serviceable but not very comfortable. We did however receive good service from Christian who booked a restaurant for us. Unfortunately I do not think we would stay there again which is a shame as the location is exactly right.”
    , United Kingdom (26.12.12)

  • “Great apartment in a very convenient location. Everything was close - the metro, supermarkets, great dining and yet, the flat is very quiet. Christian and Rafael were very professional and let us check out later, as they had no guests coming on the day we left (a great bonus, as it gave us no headache over where to store our luggage for 4 hours). I will definitely recommend this place to my friends - it makes you feel more like a true Parisian rather than an omnipresent tourist... Thank you!”
    , Slovakia (02.12.12)

  • “We had a great time at the Appartement Blanc. Upon arrival, Rafael kindly showed us around and explained how everything worked. The flat was exactly what we expected and perfect for our holiday. We'll certainly think of staying here again next time we go to Paris!”
    paula, United Kingdom (05.11.12)

  • “The apartment suited us perfectly because we loved the area and the airy feel of the flat. The Bozart Bistrot around the corner is an added bonus and the Marché Bastille on Sunday morning is not to be missed.”
    , United Kingdom (06.09.12)

  • “Had a great time and it was our second time in the appartment, this time with a 9 year old and a 7 year old! It worked perfectly for us. Ideal for a couple or a family. Location is perfect, easy access to metro, supermarket and patisserie close by. Nice area, feel safe. Would recommend it without hesitation and plan to go back. Newly refurbished bathroom great and lovely to be provided with coffee, washing powder, washing up liquid etc. They organised a taxi for us for the return journey back to the airport. WiFi great for finding out about things on in Paris and DVD great for children as only French TV.”
    , United Kingdom (28.07.12)

Save to favouritesPrintMailAppartement BlancThere is much to praise about this quirky, comfortable bolthole and those looking for a simple pad in a cool location will be very happy here. You’re in the youthful 11th arrondissement, with the Place de la République at one end of the street and the Bastille at the other. There’s a varied assortment of independent bistros, bars and boulangeries around here, and we found it a real joy to stock up on cheese and wine before utilising the kitchen and munching down like the locals do. Set in a traditional 18th-century apartment block (smart but not overly grand), the apartment is insulated from the street noise by a cobbled courtyard, giving that rarest of Parisian commodities: a peaceful night’s sleep. Indoors it’s airy and uplifting in a simple way. Walls and parquet floors are painted various shades of white, and natural light pours in through the Parisian floor-to-ceiling windows. If it’s a sunny day you can even open the master bedroom doors onto your private terrace. There’s also a big comfy sofa, a TV and some books in the sitting room: perfect for relaxing before an evening on the town. But the biggest prize you get here is space: 3 rooms, a charming terrace, and no one to bother you!

Book this hotelfrom 165EUR

i-escape gift

A small welcome gift, such as a bottle of wine, fresh flowers or macaroons

Do you need help?

Many questions are already answered in our FAQs, otherwise, email us at: help@i-escape.com