Sign up to our newsletter




Sign me up for...



Casa Montani

Campo Marzio, Rome, Italy

Press Reviews

The Times, July 2014
"Live like a Roman at this intimate five-bedroom guesthouse, minutes from Porta del Popolo, the Roman gateway that was once the main entrance to the city. A converted townhouse, it has an internal courtyard and stylish rooms. Breakfast is served in your room, plus it is close to the main sites: Villa Borghese and Via del Babuino are nearby."

Conde Nast Traveller (UK)
"A five-room bed-and-breakfast with the soul of a much bigger design hotel, Casa Montani is a solid word-of-mouth success. Located just outside Piazza del Popolo, a ten-minute walk from the Spanish Steps, the third-floor guest house was once a typical Roman apartment, but it was given a stylish makeover by architect Liliana Sciacca. Casa Montani's intimate interiors make this a good place for cocooning after a hard day's sightseeing (the Flaminio metro stop is just outside), and the fact that breakfast is served in your room contributes to the cozy atmosphere."

Travel + Leisure
"The five-room property is a blissful hideaway, thanks to a state-of-the-art soundproofing system that hushes the noise from the Piazza del Popolo. Inside, beds are fitted with towels by Frette, furniture was designed by architect Liliana Sciacca, and breakfast (fresh cornetti with organic jams) is served on fine porcelain."

Guest Ratings

Room:
93%
Food:
91%
Service:
97%
Value:
93%
Overall:
94%

Guest Reviews

Reviews are only from people who have stayed there and booked through i-escape.

  • “Being in Rome with a 14 year old we elected to stay in the apartment and are so pleased that we did. Whilst we didn't enjoy the luxury of a daily breakfast, we were within walking distance of the daily market and the best organic Italian bakery in Rome for our daily hit of divine pizza slice. The apartment was beautifully furnished with the most comfortable bed I slept in throughout my month in Italy. The apartment was fabulously located that we walked everywhere in Rome and I mean everywhere.”
    , Australia (05.10.14)

  • “We stayed in the Casa Montani apartment in Rome. What a great experience. We were greeted by Giuseppe and given excellent suggestions on where to eat and what to do. The apartment was beautifully furnished with lovely bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. The Campo di Fiore location was absolutely perfect; walking distance to everything. We would definitely stay here again.”
    , United States (29.09.14)

  • “Our stay at Casa Montani was short but sweet. A great place to stay if you want to see all the major sights in Rome in a few days, as its location is excellent. We stayed in a Junior Suite and then moved to the Suite due to an overbooking issue. The Suite was amazing: spacious and beautifully decorated. The rooms are soundproofed, so you can't hear the busy road outside, and we were traveling with a toddler and were informed that other guests wouldn't be able to hear her either. The rooms are tastefully decorated, but there were a couple of minor flaws that let the place down a little bit (missing plug cover, peeling wallpaper, dust behind the sofabed). The breakfast was delicious, plentiful and served with great attention to detail. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.”
    , United States (17.05.14)

  • “A pleasant, compact and well equipped apartment. Centrally located, so possible to walk to all the major sites in 10-15 mins. Much preferred to the hotel rooms (which were cleverly located in a multi-purpose building) as we felt very much part of the Roman scene. Would recommend, especially if staying more than a couple of days - makes an excellent base. Received a very warm welcome from Charlotte and her staff.”
    , United Kingdom (28.03.14)

  • “Very small - only 6/7 rooms which is great. It is described as a luxury townhouse which is a good description as it isn't really a hotel - it's in a large apartment block which made me feel very safe. Andrea was great and so helpful. He gave us maps with restaurant recommendations all over the city and was very helpful in explaining how to get around. Breakfast - good choice - yoghurts, croissants, breads, fruit and lots of nice jams etc. - basic but perfect for busy sight-seers in Rome! Definitely get the train from Fuimicino Airport - very easy and quick. Made the mistake of buying a three day tube pass and only used it twice. We went to great restaurants and bars - Cafe Propaganda, maccheroni, bar del fico, caffe della pace, gusto.”
    , United Kingdom (09.12.13)

  • “Excellently located apartment near the main places of interest but also excellent for self catering; Camp dei Fiori and all shops are nearby. The apartment has all luxury equipment you need and is inclusive of daily cleaning. Ideal recommendation for a family or a couple (two bathrooms). A lot of restaurants nearby.”
    , Germany (30.11.13)

  • “My wife and I had a superb stay at Casa Montani. We were greeted by Andrea on our arrival and he ensured our stay was fantastic. He made us feel at home as soon as we arrived and his local knowledge and advice was brilliant. The room we stayed in was great and our little private balcony a nice touch. The location is central with easy walking to most of the sights but just far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. We would definitely come back here again.”
    , United Kingdom (28.10.13)

  • “The room was wonderful. The best light breakfast we had in Italy - perfection. The staff could not be more helpful. We loved the view from our window on to the beautiful townhouses across the street, also the decor and ambiance.We were very happy with our stay. Great location. Tips: Fabulous take-away fresh Turkish food next to the entrance, very well priced. Also across the Piazza di Popolo is the Hotel Russie with a beautiful bar for apparitivo.”
    Amanda, Australia (09.10.13)

  • “Perfect location, lovely rooms and wonderful service. What more can you ask for. Thank you for a perfect stay.”
    Tania, United Kingdom (30.08.13)

  • “We had a perfect stay and the staff were very helpful and pleasant in recommending restaurants etc. Perfect location, most sites in Rome are within walking distance. The only low was the noise in the courtyard in the early morning due to construction work on another building.”
    , Netherlands (23.03.13)

  • “The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!!”
    Tracy, Ireland (01.11.12)

Save to favouritesPrintMailCasa MontaniCasa Montani overlooks Porta del Popolo, the old Roman gateway that was once the main entrance to the city for visitors from the north and which leads onto the spectacular disc of Piazza del Popolo. The casa, tucked away on the third floor, is one of Romeís new breed of discreet townhouse conversions and has been in the family for generations: Giuseppe Montaniís great-grandfather bought the place directly from the builder in 1916. Today, the casa is not a hotel but an intimate upper-range guesthouse. Itís a labour of love, designed by architect Liliana Sciacca and decorated by its French-Italian owners with custom-made furniture (such as glossy lacquered desks) and original paintings by Giuseppe Butera. The lobby-reception has walls hand-painted by Philippe Gandon in bold black and white stripes that call to mind 1930s chic, or Audrey Hepburn photographed by Cecil Beaton. For the standard of comfort, for the design and fittings, for the location and for Rome prices are reasonable - a great getaway for families, friends or couples, who want a home from home in the Eternal City.

Book this hotelfrom 129EUR

i-escape gift

a bottle of Pinot di Pinot at time of stay

Do you need help?

Many questions are already answered in our FAQs, otherwise, email us at: help@i-escape.com