Casa Montani

City Centre, Rome, Italy

Press Reviews

Conde Nast Traveller (UK), May 2009
"The best of a recent bunch of small guesthouses to open in Rome, five-room Casa Montani packs contemporary-classic style and attention to detail into a third-floor family apartment."

Conde Nast Traveller (UK)
"A five-room bed-and-breakfast with the soul of a much bigger design hotel, Casa Montani has become a solid word-of-mouth success since its November 2007 opening. Located just outside Piazza del Popolo, a ten-minute walk from the Spanish Steps, the third-floor guest house was once a typical Roman apartment, but it was given a stylish makeover by architect Liliana Sciacca. While no expense has been spared, it's not the Designers Guild fabrics, Shantung silk curtains, nor bathrooms in Ligurian slate or local travertine that seal the deal so much as the sheer urban elegance of the place... Casa Montani's intimate interiors make this a good place for cocooning after a hard day's sightseeing (the Flaminio metro stop is just outside), and the fact that breakfast is served in your room contributes to the cozy atmosphere."

Travel + Leisure
"The five-room property is a blissful hideaway, thanks to a state-of-the-art soundproofing system that hushes the noise from the Piazza del Popolo. Inside, beds are fitted with towels by Frette, furniture was designed by architect Liliana Sciacca, and breakfast (fresh cornetti with organic jams) is served on fine porcelain. Although room service isn’t available for after-hours cravings, owners Giuseppe and Charlotte Montani give out their cell phone numbers for late-night restaurant queries."

Guest Ratings

Room:
93%
Food:
85%
Service:
95%
Value:
88%
Overall:
90%

Guest Reviews

Reviews are only from people who have stayed there and booked through i-escape.

  • “A pleasant, compact and well equipped apartment. Centrally located, so possible to walk to all the major sites in 10-15 mins. Much preferred to the hotel rooms (which were cleverly located in a multi-purpose building) as we felt very much part of the Roman scene. Would recommend, especially if staying more than a couple of days - makes an excellent base. Received a very warm welcome from Charlotte and her staff.”
    Sue, United Kingdom (28.03.14)

  • “Very small - only 6/7 rooms which is great. It is described as a luxury townhouse which is a good description as it isn't really a hotel - it's in a large apartment block which made me feel very safe. Andrea was great and so helpful. He gave us maps with restaurant recommendations all over the city and was very helpful in explaining how to get around. Breakfast - good choice - yoghurts, croissants, breads, fruit and lots of nice jams etc. - basic but perfect for busy sight-seers in Rome! Definitely get the train from Fuimicino Airport - very easy and quick. Made the mistake of buying a three day tube pass and only used it twice. We went to great restaurants and bars - Cafe Propaganda, maccheroni, bar del fico, caffe della pace, gusto.”
    Becky, United Kingdom (09.12.13)

  • “Excellently located apartment near the main places of interest but also excellent for self catering; Camp dei Fiori and all shops are nearby. The apartment has all luxury equipment you need and is inclusive of daily cleaning. Ideal recommendation for a family or a couple (two bathrooms). A lot of restaurants nearby.”
    gerhard, Germany (30.11.13)

  • “My wife and I had a superb stay at Casa Montani. We were greeted by Andrea on our arrival and he ensured our stay was fantastic. He made us feel at home as soon as we arrived and his local knowledge and advice was brilliant. The room we stayed in was great and our little private balcony a nice touch. The location is central with easy walking to most of the sights but just far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. We would definitely come back here again.”
    Adrian, United Kingdom (28.10.13)

  • “The room was wonderful. The best light breakfast we had in Italy - perfection. The staff could not be more helpful. We loved the view from our window on to the beautiful townhouses across the street, also the decor and ambiance.We were very happy with our stay. Great location. Tips: Fabulous take-away fresh Turkish food next to the entrance, very well priced. Also across the Piazza di Popolo is the Hotel Russie with a beautiful bar for apparitivo.”
    Amanda, Australia (09.10.13)

  • “Perfect location, lovely rooms and wonderful service. What more can you ask for. Thank you for a perfect stay.”
    Tania, United Kingdom (30.08.13)

  • “We had a perfect stay and the staff were very helpful and pleasant in recommending restaurants etc. Perfect location, most sites in Rome are within walking distance. The only low was the noise in the courtyard in the early morning due to construction work on another building.”
    Aimee, Netherlands (23.03.13)

  • “The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in!!”
    Tracy, Ireland (01.11.12)

  • “We particularly liked the detailed touristic information, customer service and conversation provided by Guiseppi, the manager/concierge and his assistant. They went out of their way to be helpful, even to the extent of calling us in the middle of the night to make sure we were awake for our 4 am taxi to the airport.
    I also appreciated the décor of the room which was well-appointed but not overwhelming and the location. This was my second time booking a great property through i-escape. I appreciate your service!”
    Meg, United States (27.09.12)

  • “Really nice spacious room, although the location was a bit out of the way.”
    catherine, United Kingdom (20.08.12)

  • “Casa Montani in Rome is excellent value in great location with very friendly staff. Our room was stylish, comfortable, clean. As i-escape's thorough description states, not a full-service hotel, but a room & bathroom in a luxury townhouse. A unique way to stay in Rome. The fresh, simple breakfast was perfect for us. Great place for self-sufficient travelers who want simplicity and privacy.”
    KIRSTEN, United States (23.06.12)

  • “Was nice that you had complete privacy, but the small communal area was right at front desk, and unlikely you'd want to spend time sitting next to the receptionist. However, breakfast in the room was a nice touch, which came promptly on request. We were provided with a list of recommended restaurants nearby which was useful. We tried several of the suggestions and found them to be very good. This was also part of our honeymoon trip, which we'd made them aware of before we arrived, but no mention of it at all at any point, which was rather disappointing. Overall it was nice, but expensive for what it was and the amenities available. Get the metro from Termini if arriving by train- the station entrance is right outside the front door and Rome taxi drivers like to take the scenic route from A to B....costing us almost €20! Takes 4 mins by Metro...”
    Clare, United Kingdom (03.06.12)

  • “Friendly and helpful staff; we felt like we were visiting friends! Great location (walking distance to all the major sites in Rome), the list of restaurants provided by the hotel was great and the airport transfer arranged by the hotel worked perfectly.”
    Luiza, Netherlands (29.05.12)

  • “Liked: design, artwork, location, helpful advice, arrangement of transfers and trips, feeling of security. Disliked: breakfast lacked imagination (same sliced oranges and kiwi fruits each day, with tasteless white bread). Car service arranged from airport was quick and painless. All restaurant suggestions by owner were very good, as were the tours by Roman Candle.”
    Stephen, United Kingdom (23.04.12)

Save to favouritesPrintMailCasa MontaniCasa Montani overlooks Porta del Popolo, the old Roman gateway that was once the main entrance to the city for visitors from the north, and which leads onto the spectacular disc of Piazza del Popolo. The Casa, tucked away on the third floor, is one of Romeís new breed of discreet townhouse conversions, and has been in the family for generations: Giuseppe Montaniís great-grandfather bought the place directly from the builder in 1916. Today, the casa is not a hotel, but an intimate upper-range guesthouse. Itís a labour of love, designed by architect Liliana Sciacca, and decorated by its French-Italian owners with custom-made furniture (such as glossy lacquered desks) and original paintings by Giuseppe Butera. The lobby-reception has walls hand-painted by Philippe Gandon in bold black and white stripes that call to mind 1930s chic, or Audrey Hepburn photographed by Cecil Beaton. For the standard of comfort, for the design and fittings, for the location, and for Rome, prices are reasonable.

Book this hotelfrom 210EUR

i-escape gift

a bottle of Pinot di Pinot at time of stay

Do you need help?

Many questions are already answered in our FAQs, otherwise, email us at: help@i-escape.com