Sign up to our newsletter




Sign me up for...



Hotel Actual

Eixample, Barcelona, Spain

Press Reviews

The Telegraph, July 2008
"The Actual has a prime location. It is 30 yards from a metro stop, across the street from the trendy Hotel Omm, which has one of the city's best restaurants, and round the corner from La Pedrera, Gaudí's cave-like apartment block... Ask for an upper-floor bedroom at the rear: not only will it be quieter, but you will also be able to spy on the tourists nosing around La Pedrera's quirky rooftop... Owned by a Spanish interior-design company, the hotel has a trim, minimalist look."

Time Out Guide to Barcelona
"A chic lobby in shades of white and chocolate brown sets the stage for this magazine-pretty newcomer, owned by the Gimeno sisters (of the design and household store, Gimeno, just around the corner on Passeig de Gràcia). The 29 rooms have a minimalist design, with black headboards, velvet curtains and grey slate bathrooms. Modest perks for business travellers include a shoe shining machine in the lobby, a reading room and internet access."

Frommer's Review
"Situated opposite the ultra-hip Omm Hotel, it's no surprise that the Actual is somewhat overshadowed. You can, however, save yourself a few euros by staying at this stylish three-star place rather than across the road, and of course you can still make use of the Omm's wonderful bar and restaurant. Small but perfectly formed wood paneling and large windows give the hotel a light, airy feel with a designer edge. Bedrooms are simply but elegantly decorated with chocolate brown soft furnishings and plain white walls and bed linen, and all have compact bathrooms with tub/shower combos."

Guest Ratings

Room:
82%
Food:
70%
Service:
87%
Value:
84%
Overall:
82%

Guest Reviews

Reviews are only from people who have stayed there and booked through i-escape.

  • “We very much enjoyed our room. For a 3 star hotel the room was great! The breakfast was also good and the food staff made great coffees. Front desk were helpful and the overall hotel was great and a super value. We will return. We liked our first room #521 with its two windows and balconies and large bathroom. It was a least a 4 star hotel room. We had many great meals, but really enjoyed the Bodega about 3 blocks away. The main dining area is in a basement and they also have an outdoor seating area on the street. Really great Catalan food and a great local crowd. See you next year.”
    , United States (26.07.14)

  • “Excellent location, well designed minimalist room, good service & desk, excellent crash pad with good restaurants in vicinity. Query whether a/c would be adequate in summer.”
    , United Kingdom (23.05.14)

  • “The hotel was just as described on the i-escape website. Our room was great; perfectly clean and spacious with a decent bathroom. We were on the sixth floor which was fine and was served by 2 lifts. The only minor comment would be that there was a lack of toiletries provided in the bathroom and no bath robes. On the first night we were woken at 4am by very noisy revellers leaving the nightclub at Hotel Omm opposite us. The french doors onto the balcony of our room did not have any sound-proofing (traffic noise quite bad) so if we went again we'd ask for rooms at the back, assuming they are a bit quieter. All reception staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. On our last day we were able to keep one of our rooms until 5pm as we had a later flight home, for a small charge of 25 euros. We found this hotel was perfect for our needs on a short winter break to Barcelona. Very good value for money. We would definitely stay here again. This area definitely suited me and my husband (being in our early 50s) as it is in a very smart neighbourhood with a good mix of shops from designer to highstreet. We paid 31 euros from the airport and 30 euros to the airport.”
    , United Kingdom (14.12.13)

  • “The best thing about the Hotel Actual is its location, which is just about perfect,especially for Gaudi lovers, and is just steps from the excellent metro and bus stops as well. The rooms themselves are not large and are quite business-y(and pillows are a bit hard), but they are clean and very well priced for the location Breakfasts are not cheap, but food is copious. Hotel staff is consistently very helpful -- use of hotel computer and printer a plus for things like airplane boarding passes.”
    Anne, United States (09.09.13)

  • “Good location, but very average hotel - and at €140 per night, we felt it overpriced, even for a destination city spot.”
    , United Kingdom (02.06.13)

  • “The Hotel Actual was sort of perfect for my Barcelona stay.
    Very well-designed with great attention to important detail such as lighting and a good bed. And in a great area that's quiet, just far enough from the tourist-clogged Ramblas, but central to many of the great sights of Barcelona.
    All-in-all very good.”
    Theo, South Africa (19.03.13)

  • “Location excellent; very good value. i-escape site, information and process excellent.”
    , Australia (09.01.13)

Save to favouritesPrintMailHotel ActualJust round the corner from - and with views of - Gaudí’s famous La Pedrera building, Hotel Actual is refreshingly simple and efficient, catering to business people during the week and visitors during the weekends. Owned by the trendy interiors shop Gimeno 102 on Passeig de Grŕcia, it's full of stylish touches, from the beautiful flower arrangements to the mellow jazz music played in the lobby. Bedrooms are identikit-cool - modern, minimalistic and two-tone - but with enough comforts to feel welcoming. Junior Suites provide a dash of exuberance, with intricately painted ceilings and the odd chandelier. Reception staff add to that with excellent English and handy tips on tapas and tourism, as well as free maps. There's free internet access, an excellent buffet breakfast, and more cafés plus a metro stop around the corner. If you feel like splurging for dinner, the renowned restaurant Moo (within Hotel Omm) is right opposite; you can splash out, knowing you're saving plenty on the room prices!

Book this hotelfrom 80EUR

Do you need help?

Many questions are already answered in our FAQs, otherwise, email us at: help@i-escape.com